21 September 2012

Levin, Nardella, Breslin Enshrined By Illinois Hockey Hall Of Fame

Chicago Wolves chairman of the board DON LEVIN, former defenseman BOB NARDELLA and late left wing TIM BRESLIN were among the 11 people announced Friday as inductees into the Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame.

 Levin, who founded the Wolves with William Buddy Meyers in 1994, will be enshrined in the Builders category. Levin has served as the team's Chairman of the Board throughout its existence. The franchise has captured four championships --- two Turner Cups in the International Hockey League and two Calder Cups in the American Hockey League --- in 18 seasons. Levin also has been a constant supporter of youth hockey organizations.

Nardella and Breslin will be enshrined in the Players category.

Nardella, a Melrose Park native, ranks fifth on the Wolves career scoring list with 298 points. The defenseman produced 59 goals and 239 assists during eight seasons with the Wolves and played an integral role on the 1998, 2000 and 2002 championship teams. Nardella played for Italy's national team in the 1998 and 2006 Winter Olympics.

Breslin, who grew up in Addison and attended Driscoll Catholic High School, was among the first three players signed in Wolves history. During his five seasons with the team, Breslin delivered 37 goals, 82 assists, and 119 points in 330 games. He appeared in all but one playoff game for the 1998 Turner Cup champions. Breslin passed away on Feb. 9, 2005, due to complications from appendiceal cancer. The Wolves honor one player each year with the Tim Breslin Award, which goes to the man who best typifies Breslin's on-ice spirit and team-first attitude.

Levin, Nardella, and Breslin are joined in the eighth IHHF class by builders Bob Arturo, Karl "Butch" Kaebel, Amy Lapoe, and Bob Turngren; player Mike Rucinski; and referees Scott Brand and Paul Ciancanelli.

They will be honored at the IHHF Induction Dinner on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2013, at the Belvedere Banquet Hall in Elk Grove Village.